Leeton, Berrigan and Greater Hume councils will be changing from a 2 bin system to 3 bins
Edward River, Hay shire and the northern Federation townships will move from 1 bin to 3 bins

In June 2021, the NSW Government released its Waste and Sustainable Materials Strategy. The strategy introduced a new requirement for councils to provide FOGO collection services to all households by 2030.

This means all residents who already have a domestic waste collection and will get a “green-lid” bin in the lead up to July 2024.

Berrigan, Federation, Edward River, Greater Hume and Leeton Shire council have received $930,900 under the NSW EPA Go FOGO grant program (Round 1) to educate and engage their communities about the changes to the kerbside recycling systems in 2024. 

Hay is supported by the Environmental Trust as part of the NSW Environment Protection Authority’s Waste Less, Recycle More initiative, funded from the waste levy.

Select Your Location

Please select your council/region

Please select your city/suburb

Please start typing your street (excluding street number) and select it from the list

Welcome to Halve Waste.

To provide relevant waste information for your area please select your location.